Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

LearnPowerBI5
Frequent Visitor

Cannot create active relationship between date table and multiple dim tables

I am new to data modeling and require help. I have multiple fact tables (Tables - Data_2020, Data_2021, Data_2022, Data_Fifa)  year-wise and I want to connect them to one date table, however, the date table establishes an active relationship with only one fact table and an inactive relationship with other fact tables thus giving errors showing the same values across the months. I want to create an active relationship with all the fact tables and am unable to do so.

Thanks.

Screenshot 2022-09-25 110625.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

You are doubling relationships if you make connection to dimtables and between data tables.

Model works if you delete many to many and connect 🙂

lukaszEltwin1_0-1664172830497.png

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Partially you re correct to use dimdate. The end goal to use dimntables to avoid many to many relationships. For 90% they are responsible why the relationships are blocked. There should be notification which relationship is blocking you table link, double click on not active ones

What is the column link for relationships between them? Project id or something like that? Try to create new table and use within it dax with distinct union. Connecting them to new dimtable and removing many to many relationships could help. 

Anonymous
Not applicable

You are doubling relationships if you make connection to dimtables and between data tables.

Model works if you delete many to many and connect 🙂

lukaszEltwin1_0-1664172830497.png

PaulDBrown
Community Champion
Community Champion