Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

geofflilley
Frequent Visitor

Cannot Connect to an Oracle Database...GOING INSANE, READY TO QUIT

Hi. Let me get a couple of things out of the way. Even though this problem (which has plagued me for 18 hours and counting) makes me feel like a complete USELESS IDIOT, I have evidence that I'm not. (MCP ID is 3145964, I'm an MCT, I've been using computers for 25 years, I have a 126 IQ. I'm not STUPID. But this problem sure makes me feel like it.)

If you looked at my Google history, you'd see that I've been back and forth between Oracle forums and Microsoft Power BI forums continually, trying each solution listed therein. I've downloaded the ODBC driver, the Instant Client, directly from the links provided in the instructions on the PowerBI page.

I have an Oracle ODBC connection that I've configured in the ODBC 64 control panel, and I can successfully ping the server, as well as connect via SQL Developer.

I can connect neither via ODBC nor Oracle.

For ODBC, the error I get is "Restricted data type attribute violation." The only two "workarounds" or "solutions" I've seen after hours of searching are, "are you running the latest version of PowerBI?" (yes, checked twice) and "Yeah, me too, can't seem to get it to work, bummer, any help, Microsoft?" And "send a frown." (Done, no optimism.)

For Oracle, the error that I get is "The recommended provider ('Oracle.Data.Access.Client') is not installed. You can continue with your current provider, however it has been deprecated and may not work correctly."

I clicked Learn More, and downloaded the software as specifically stipulated therein. Same error message.

I've uninstalled and re-installed the software six times, changed the PATH variable, rebooted, hacked registry entries, you name it.