Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

JamesTran

Can we create pivot tables and pivot charts akin to Excel in Power BI Desktop?

I'm new to Power BI Desktop and can't seem to make pivot tables and charts as quickly and easily or correctly as compared Excel.  Is there an option to this to make it easier to create?

For example: In Excel, I used line item data and summarized that data on a separate sheet.  I then created pivot tables and charts from the summarized data.  This gave me accurate representation in charts of what I calculated. 

When doing this in Power BI Desktop: I imported both line item and summarized data sheets into Power BI desktop.  However, the charts created from the Power BI Desktop doesn't seem to calculate the pivot table values like Excel.  Is there a trick to doing this in Power BI Desktop? Subsequently, the charts did not reflect the data I was hoping to see.

Please let me know if there is a trick I'm missing here.

thanks,

james

11 REPLIES 11
disaac

Hi,

Why there is no columns table like pivot table in power bi.

Regards,

Dyson Isaac

You can create tables and matrix by using different visualization chart

bleone

Is there an update to this?  

Essentially one of the reports I'd like to create is a report with a pivot table that viewers can then drill down (or explore) the underlying data directly from that visual with all of the filters, etc. applied.  If this is currently possible and I've missed how to do this, I apologize. I'm totally new to PowerBI.

Is any update available? This would be so useful!

Have you tried using slicer? with charts?

ashishrj
Power Participant
Power Participant