Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Can we create RLS from my sql server instead of in power BI?

Hi Folks,

I am new to this concept in power BI.

Can we create RLS from my sql server instead of in power BI?  If, possible how are we going to map bases on user login's from power BI service? e.g HR team should view data only HR related, Sales team should view data only sales related, etc....
Actually, I am giving edit permission to my user's (do there own visual at server side) If I give other then viewer access to my user the RLS will not work that is the reason thinking to implement at database side itself. Is it right approch to implement at database side?

Can any one help on this post.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @ToddChitt ,

Sure, I will explore on App settings in power BI service.

Thanks for you valuable input on this.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
ToddChitt
Super User
Super User

Yes, this is entirely possible. 

As I understand it, you want to control who can see what (RLS) in Power BI based on data in SQL Server, correct? 

There are a few ways to do this. 

What type of data do you have? Do you maybe have a column with email address? Cam you use the USERNAME or USERPRINCIPALNAME functions?

Hi @ToddChitt ,

Yes, we can use username or userprinciplename to map the users. my point here is I don't want to implement any RLS concept from Power BI desktop using username or userprinciplename I need to implement at DB end. Actually I connecting stored procedure using Direct query not a table in that case My SP should have implement RLS in that case how we can map SP with bases on login user from power bi service?