Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

benaford
Frequent Visitor

Can't get chart to plot forecast

I'm trying to create a chart that compares current units sold by week to forecasted units across the same time and then plots the forecast out for the rest of the year. However, I have three tables - Sales, Forecast and Calendar. When I try to plot current year the forecast will only plot out as far as the current week of sales, but not any further. 

This is last year - it will force the forecast line to plot across all 52 weeks:

benaford_0-1659067774686.png

This is current year - forecast will only plot out to the last week where there are sales recorded:

benaford_1-1659067959061.png

I feel like this has something to do with the calendar and the filters, but I can't figure it out. I'm a newbie to this, so I apologize in advance is this is something super simple that I'm not aware of.

TIA ~

https://1drv.ms/u/s!Aq5qm0GeT2XSgqdfVf9AT4fXWYm28A?e=0JOoDh

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @benaford 

I made several changes to your pbix. Please download the attachment at bottom to see details. Changes are: 

1. Remove the old relationship between Sales and Forecast tables. Add a one-to-many relationship from Calendar to Forecast. The old relationship uses Sales table to filter Forecast, which caused the data missing as Sales table doesn't have data past week 22. Using Calendar table to filter Forecast can avoid this. 

2. Add a Dim Item table to the model and create one-to-many relationships from it to both Sales and Forecast tables on Item Nbr or Item Name columns. Use DimItem's Item Name in the slicer on report. 

vjingzhang_0-1659582055749.png

3. Remove FISCAL YR from the visual. Then you will have the following visual as expected. 

vjingzhang_1-1659582796230.png

Best Regards,