Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

rickylee
Helper III
Helper III

Can power bi refresh data automatically when new data comes to dynamic 365 database?

Hello,

I have a revenue table in power bi (which uses dynamic 365 as the data source) and it is published to dynamic 365 dashboard on a daily basis. However, it is all manually done at the moment. I need to refresh the data in power bi and publish to dynamic 365 dashboard on a daily basis. 

Is there a way to automate this? I.e. If new data comes to dynamic 365, power bi will refresh the data automatically and publsih it back to dynamic 365 dashboard?

I have search some forum and found out about rest API but I am not a programmer. Do we have other ways to achieve this?

Thanks,
Ricky

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @rickylee,

As I understand, you have a power BI report whcih you then publish to the Power BI Service and then from there to dyamic 365 dashboard - correct?

If so, you can achieve referehsing with scheduled refresh:

refresh1.PNGrefresh2.PNG

However, the scheduled refresh is fixed so it only happens at the time you've selected - and it is limited to 8 refreshes per day for free and pro users and 48 refrehses a day for premium users.

If you want to "force" a refresh every time data is changed, make a Flow with Microsoft Flow. This solution requires you to make a PowerBI custom connecter in Microsoft Flow. and I got it done with easy-to-follow instructions from this blog. I needed a similar refreshing feature for one of my reports and the only solution I found was making a Flow with Microsoft Flow and creating a custom Power BI connector to Flow. Please note, that the 8 or 48 refreshes a day limit still exists even if you use Flow.

Br,

T

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @rickylee,