Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Can I have a tooltip per entry to a table?

Hi there,

I am relatively new to Power BI and I am looking for a bit of help with Tooltips.

I have managed to set up a tooltip to show another variable when an entry in the table is moused over.

Example of Working TooltipExample of Working Tooltip

However, I am looking to see if its possible to have another variable when I mouse over another column in the table?

Not WorkingNot Working

Each column in the table is a different variable which is a score out of 5

The information in the tooltip is the reason why that score was given and comes from another variable

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks,

Chris

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-lid-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous ,

If your data is similar with the following: 

10.5.jpg

we can create a column header table, then use matrix visual to meet your requirement:

column header table:

ColumnHeaderTable = {"Column1","Column2","Column3"}

11.jpg

Value measure in matrix visual:

MeasureInMatrix = SWITCH(SELECTEDVALUE(ColumnHeaderTable[Value]),"Column1",SUM('Table'[Column1]),"Column2",SUM('Table'[Column2]),"Column3",SUM('Table'[Column3]))

12.jpg

Tooltips measure which will output different value depens on the value column header:

Tooltips = SWITCH(SELECTEDVALUE(ColumnHeaderTable[Value]),"Column1","Tooltip for Column1","Column2","Tooltip for Column2","Column3","Tooltip for Column3")

13.jpg14.jpg

Best regards,

Community Support Team _ Dong Li
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
hsantosh
Helper I
Helper I