Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

gijeet

Call an SP

As a developer I spent years learning SQL and all it’s power – creating queries, CTEs, correlated subqueries, stored procedures with parameters, learning all the join conditions and filter conditions in the code to return a result set.  Why do I want to do all this manually thru an interface now in Power BI Desktop by getting data, manually creating relationships, manually merging data,  etc. ? We all know once you create code scripts it’s much faster and easier to manage than thru an interface. So ss there a way to call a stored procedure and pass parameters from BI Desktop?  Thanks.

6 REPLIES 6
Eric_Zhang
Employee
Employee

Hi gijeet,

I've leant SQL for years as well and be glad to meet someone who has the similar experience 🙂 . Through an interface is also not prefered for me, however I think it might be the savior for the ones who have no any SQL or coding experience.

Regarding your question, calling stored produres with parameters, I've made some research and found some tricks.

e.g. In SQL Server, supposing there exists a stored proce in testdb of testserver.

CREATE PROC p4test @PARAM VARCHAR(200)
AS
BEGIN
SELECT @PARAM CONTENT
END

1. Click "Edit Queries" in the "Home" tab, a "Query Editor" window pops up.
  2. Click "New Source" ->"SQL Server" and fill the "server","database","Sql Statement" with "testServer","testdb","exec p4test 'goodday'", click ok.
  3. Click on that query on the left panel and click "Advanced Editor" in "Home" tab, and paste the below code

let 
    SQLSource = (param as text) => 
let
    Source = Sql.Database("testserver", "testdb", [Query="exec p4test '"&param&"'"])
in
    Source
in
    SQLSource 

Then you can click "invoke" button and type a parameter value.

That's all what I've found so far.