cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sarmusso
Regular Visitor

Calendar help

Hi! I am a Power BI novice and have been digging around on youtube but haven't found something simple enough to help me get started. I am trying to create a calendar that shows the names of people with birthdays for a single month. Ideally you can click on the names and it will have a hyperlink to their email. Any and all insight would be grealty appreciated. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-alq-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi, @sarmusso 

Based on your description, I created data to reproduce your scenario. The pbix file is attached in the end.

Table:

d1.png

Calendar:

d2.png

There is no relationship between two tables. You may create a measure as below.

Visual Control = 
IF(
    ISFILTERED('Calendar'[Month]),
    IF(
        MONTH(SELECTEDVALUE('Table'[Birthday])) in DISTINCT('Calendar'[Month]),
    )
)

Then you need to put the measure in the visual level filter to display the result and set conditional format for 'Name' as below.

d3.png

d4.png

For further information, you may refer to the following document.

Add hyperlinks (URLs) to a table or matrix 

Best Regards

Allan

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
v-alq-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi, @sarmusso 

Based on your description, I created data to reproduce your scenario. The pbix file is attached in the end.

Table:

d1.png

Calendar:

d2.png

There is no relationship between two tables. You may create a measure as below.

Visual Control = 
IF(
    ISFILTERED('Calendar'[Month]),
    IF(
        MONTH(SELECTEDVALUE('Table'[Birthday])) in DISTINCT('Calendar'[Month]),
    )
)

Then you need to put the measure in the visual level filter to display the result and set conditional format for 'Name' as below.

d3.png

d4.png