Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Tekfes
Frequent Visitor

Calculation measure to compare metrics.

I have 2 fact table and 1 dimension table. They are all linked via the dimension table. The dimension table has all policyid in both fact tables. Like so..

DimPolicy

-          PolicyID

FactTb_1

-          PolicyID

-          Measure_A

-          Measure_B

FactTb_2

-          PolicyID

-          Measure_A

-          Measure_B,

I want to create calculated measures to compare and identify where measures do not match, or policies do not exist on both fact tables. Please let me know best way to do this.

My thinking was , I should create calculated measures on dim table to evaluate measures but I am quite new to power bi and not sure how to do this. Please help.

Desire Outcome

PolicyID, MatchingStatus

1001      Matching

1002      Missing FactTb_1

1003      Not Matching

1004      Missing FactTb_2

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
jdbuchanan71
Super User
Super User

Hello @Tekfes 

The table a measure lives on doesn't really matter so you can write them where they may the most sense.  I will assume for the sake of this discussion that you have a column in both Fact tables called 'Premium'.

Write a measure on each one (again, doesnt matter really but it is easier to see what table you are summing if the measure is under the same table).

Fact1 Premium = SUM ( FactTb_1[Premium] )
Fact2 Premium = SUM ( FactTb_2[Premium] )

Then a thrid measure to do some compares using a SWITCH TRUE()
https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Community-Blog/SWITCH-True-Logic-In-Power-BI-What-s-Possible-With-T...

Compare =
SWITCH (
TRUE(),
ISBLANK ( FactTb_1[PolicyID]  ), "Missing FactTb_1",
ISBLANK ( FactTb_2[PolicyID]  ), "Missing FactTb_2",
[Fact1 Premium] <> [Fact2 Premium], "Not Matching",