Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

tnicholson
Frequent Visitor

Calculation derived from measure

I am new to PowerBI, and so far, I'm not a big fan. I am struggling with a particular project I'm working on for a client. The client is a university that wants to aggregate data by the enrollment status of students (i.e. full-time or part-time). The caveat is that this needs to be done on a running total of credit hours for each week of registration. I believe I have the running total calculating, but I need to be able to set the enrollment status for that week based on the running total. Additionally, the number of credit hours used to define the status varies based on whether the student is an undergraduate or graduate. Full-time for undergraduates would be 12 or more credit hours and 6 or more credit hours for graduates. I want a table similar to this:

Student IDLevelWeekRunning Credit HoursEnrollment Status
123UG19PT
123UG212FT
123UG36PT
456GR16FT
456GR26FT
456GR36FT

I find it extremely difficult to get the running credit hours measure to display in a column, and also to simply refer to the running total for that row to see what the enrollment status should be. The condition would be

IF([Level]="UG",IF([Running Credit Hours]>=12,"FT","PT"),IF([Running Credit Hours]>=6,"FT","PT"))

I tried using this in a new column, but it did not work. How would I go about building this?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

here is another tutorial specifically for running totals calculation

https://youtu.be/3-I46u5saOA

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
andre
Memorable Member
Memorable Member