Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MasterPG5
Regular Visitor

Calculating yearly average from monthly average

Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to PowerBI, so my problem may be quite easy to solve, but I didn't really find a suitable answer yet.

So I have lots of geographical data from a 40 year long period with exact measurement times. However, measurements were not always made with the same frequency. For example, when the values were high, measurements were carried out more often.

What I would like to do is show the averages on a line diagram (versus date). My problem is, if I apply the normal "average" summarization on the data, it calculates the average from all data on the given period (based on the hierarchy level).

An example:

Normally 1 measurement is made on a day. That's 30-31 in a month, 356 in a year. However, in summer, the values are higher, so sometimes more measurements are carried out, occasionally even 4 an hour. That can be as many as 96 record a day. If yearly average is calculated, a few summer day can pull the value much higher than they should - that gives some unusable data.

What I need is, to calculate the daily average for every day, than calculate the monthly average from the daily averages of that month, yearly average from the monthly averages of that year, and then a "total" average from the yearly averages. I would like to use it on a line diagram while keeping date hierarchies (and drill-down) usable.

How can I do that? I've read some posts mentioning the averagex function, but couldn't figure out the solution, can it be used in my case?

Thanks for your help in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable