Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

LewisH
Helper II
Helper II

Calculating the Average Days Difference

I have a table called 'Put Away headers' and two fields Called 'Assignment Date' and 'Complete Date'. I would like to calculate an overall average of the days difference between these, excluding weekends. Please explain simply I'm new to this. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

The easiest way to do this is to create a calculated column in combination with a date table. You will need a date table because you will need all dates in the specific period. You can either create a date table in your database, import it (and create it in Excel) or dynamically using DAX. For the last one, see for example: https://www.agilebi.com.au/blog/power-bi-date-dimension. 

You will need to create a column (For exampe 'Workingday' in this date table where you specify for each day if it's a weekday. The column should contain a 0 or a 1 (1 for weekdays and 0 for weekenddays). 

Then, your create a calculated column with the following formula: 

Workingdays = calculate( sum(DimDate[Workingday]); DATESBETWEEN( DimDate[Date]; PutAwayHeaders[AssignmentDate];  PutAwayHeaders[CompleteDate])))

As you can see I named my date table DimDate. 

The last step is to create a measure with an average over this calculated column:

Average Workingdays = AVERAGE(Workingdays) 

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable