Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

steph15m
Frequent Visitor

Calculating number of days between two dates

Hi All, 

I'm new to Power BI (and new to the forum).  I'm looking to build a simple forecast in Power BI based on historical averages.

For example, I have individual records with <start date> and <end date>.  I would like to take the historical average of <end date> minus <start date> and apply this average to records is my table where end date is blank.  

I also need to do this location specific, IE Dallas division would have a different avg time frame than Houston.  So even if I have two records with a start date of 1/1/2018, the resulting "forecast date" would be based on the division's average.

Any help would be appreciated! 

13 REPLIES 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @steph15m

You should use DATEDIFF function to calculate the number of days between two days.

Could you show us a screenshot of some sample data and the expected output?

Hi @Anonymous the screenshot below is what I am trying to accomplish in Power BI.  The forecasted end date is what I would like to calculate in Power BI.  I'm taking the start date (where the end date is blank) and adding the historical division average to get the forecasted end date.  Thank you in advance for your help! 

This is the formula in cell E16 in the screenshot:

=IF(ISBLANK(C16),VLOOKUP(A16,$A$22:$C$23,3,FALSE)+B16,"n/a")

And this is the formula is cell C22 (Houston division average):

=AVERAGEIF($A$3:$A$17,A22,$D$3:$D$17)

Sample Forecast.PNG

@steph15m I suggest to have proper format or datatypes other wise it will be bit messy as below (If you are trying to do everything at one place)