Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

hoggwildd
Regular Visitor

Calculating a COUNT of a measure

Hello everyone,

I am new to this and am self taught using the book Power Pivot and Power BI so forgive me if I dont use the correct lingo.

I have written the following measure:

CALCULATE([Installed $],Issued[SalesRepName],USERELATIONSHIP(Jobs[Status Date],'Date'[Date]))

where [Installed $]: = CALCULATE(Jobs[Sum of GrossAmount],Jobs[JobStatus]="Complete & In house"||Jobs[JobStatus]="Complete & Paid"||Jobs[JobStatus]="Complete & Unpaid"||Jobs[JobStatus]="Complete/Await Insp"||Jobs[JobStatus]="Warranty transfer"||Jobs[JobStatus]="Manufacture War Only"||Jobs[JobStatus]="Legal")

This works perfect and the way I want to give me a total $ amount installed by sales rep, I have slicer for area and timeline on and everything works. 

THE PROBLEM: I cannot figure out for the life of me how to have a count of the measure. For example if this measure totals $50,000 in sales for one rep over one month, I want to know how many jobs that is. No matter what I have tried, count, counta, countx, countax, etc, nothing seems to work. ANY IDEAS?

Thanks for taking the time to read this and help if you can,

HW

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

If each job is on it's own row of the jobs table, and you're looking to count jobs then I'd just change one thing in your measure to get job count.

= CALCULATE(COUNTROWS(Jobs),Jobs[JobStatus]="Complete & In house"||Jobs[JobStatus]="Complete & Paid"||Jobs[JobStatus]="Complete & Unpaid"||Jobs[JobStatus]="Complete/Await Insp"||Jobs[JobStatus]="Warranty transfer"||Jobs[JobStatus]="Manufacture War Only"||Jobs[JobStatus]="Legal")

This should count the jobs, instead of adding up the amount of the jobs.

Does that work?

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
v-ljerr-msft
Employee
Employee

@hoggwildd