Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

hokitkan
Frequent Visitor

Calculating Cumulative Total with the most updated values

Hi everyone, I'm new to Power BI and now I'm facing a problem about the Cumulative Total.

The below table shows the information about number of products at certain timepoints sort by Product Type. The number of products may fluctuate due to products sold or get inventory replenishment.

raw.jpg

What I want to do is to calculate the Cumulative Total chronologically so I can obtain a output table as follow.result.jpg

I found informations about how to calculate cumulative total by group using the CALCULATE(SUM(), FILTER(ALL(),
'Table'[Date] <= MAX('Table'[Date]))) Syntax. However, I cant figure out how to calculate the cumulative total when same type of products occur repeatedly with an updated numbers. How to ignore the old value and use the latest value encounter at the corresponding timepoints?

I cant find any useful information on the web. So any hints or advises would be much appericated!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@hokitkan

Hi, please try with this measure:

cumulative =
VAR vtime =
    MAX ( Table1[TIME] )
RETURN
    CALCULATE (
        SUMX (
            SUMMARIZE (
                Table1,
                Table1[REGION],
                Table1[TYPE],
                "MXamount", SELECTCOLUMNS ( TOPN ( 1, Table1, Table1[TIME] ), "AM", Table1[AMOUNT] )
            ),
            [MXamount]
        ),
        FILTER ( ALLEXCEPT ( Table1, Table1[REGION] ), Table1[TIME] <= vtime )
    )

cumulative.gif

let me know if works

Victor

Lima-Peru

Lima - Peru

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
hymieho
Resolver I
Resolver I

Hi, I'm not exactly sure but I think you could RANK Type by Time and only SUM the top 1 (the latest value).