Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Calculating Amount Column

Hello everyone,

I'm really stuck and I would highly appreciate some help. I'm pretty new with Power BI, not even 2 weeks of experience.

I'll try make this as simple as possible, I really appreciate your time.

1. I have a GL Entry table with the columns Amount and Posting Date.

Posting Date         |      Exchange_Rate

2/13/2021                             20.72

2/13/2021                             78.35

2/17/2021                             41.27

2/18/2021                             43.28

etc...

2. I also got a Currency Exchange Rate table with 2 columns I'm interested in ( this only contains the exchange rate for EUR ).

Date           |      Exchange_Rate

2/15/2021                 4.8734

2/16/2021                 4.8751

2/17/2021                 4.8747

2/18/2021                 4.8741

etc..

Basically I want to create a new column in GL_Entry called... Amount EUR that contains the Amount value in EUR , calculated with the average of the Exchange_Rate of every month.

Let's say the average exchange rate for 03/2021 was 4.8790, then all the amounts ( Amount EUR ) in the GL Entry table for that month will be calculated with that average exchange rate. 

I'm kind of stuck because I don't know how to associate the certain dates from the GL Entry with those from the Currency Exchange Rates.

Any help is grealy appreciated, thanks for your time!

Have a great day!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi  @Anonymous ,

First create a month column to get the month number in 2 tables;

Then create 2 columns respectively in the 2 tables:

average exchange rate = AVERAGEX(FILTER(ALL('Currency Exchange Rate'),'Currency Exchange Rate'[Month No]=EARLIER('Currency Exchange Rate'[Month No])),[ Exchange_Rate])