Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

caiowirthmann
Frequent Visitor

Calculated column with sum of all sales for each id

Hi everyone!

I'm fairly new to Power Bi and DAX and I need help creating a column that adds all the sales values for each "Code_ID" on a table that contains all the registered "Code"

For context I added a .xlsx with sample data that is used on my report (simplified with less rows only the relevant data, and also for privacy) to help solving my problem. Both tabs in the excel sheet are different tables in PowerBi that comes from differentLink to sample data:
Sample data (weTransfer link)

I need to create a column on "CODE BASE" table that adds all the "Sales_R$" value for each "Code_Id" on the "Sales by Code" table (excel formula example provided on "C" column in "CODE BASE" tab) Each "Code_Id" is distinct for each "Store Number", but "Code_Id" can repeat each month/year. So far there's no need to add these values by month or year since these will be filtered on visual by a calendar table used as data segmentation.

The reason I need this column is to facilitite my ABC classification (that is done using "Code_Id" total sales as a base). The resulting ABC classes are used as a data segmentation on my visuals only, so all the calculations could be done on the table itsell

I tried creating this column using FILTER, EARLIER, SUMX, CALCULATE but I couldnt get it to work, probably due to my inexperience

I hope that I provided enough context and explained what I'm trying to do

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-chenwuz-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @caiowirthmann ,

You can try this code to create column:

sum of all sales for each id =
CALCULATE(
    SUM( 'Sales By Code'[Sales_R$] ),
    FILTER( 'Sales By Code', [Code_Id] = EARLIER( 'CODE BASE'[Code_Id] ) )
)

result