Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ManOAction

Calculated Row in Matrix

I'm brand new to Power BI and I'm having a hard time figuring this out.

I'm building a financial report, and I'd like to include a calculated row (not a column).  The data is expense_type (rows) by month (column).  Looks like this...

before.PNG

When I try to use DAX to create a percentage of one of the rows (% commission of ad sales), it puts it as an additional column.

wrong.PNG

The query I'm building this off of is laid out as `amount`, `type`, `date`.

How do I get the calculated information to appear as a row.

My current formula looks like this.

BrokerageCommission = CALCULATE(SUM('reports financialreport'[Amount])*.2,'reports financialreport'[Transaction Type] = "Ad Revenue")
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

That makes sense.   

I've written it into the underlying query in data warehouse as a union select, and it's working fine.

Thanks so much for your help.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
TomMartens
Super User
Super User

Hey,

I guess your formula creates a measure, by default measures are put to the columns in a matrix visual:

measures on rows 1.png

If you want the measures used on rows, just mark the matrix visual and turn on the property "Show on rows"

measures on rows 2.png

Hope this is what you are looking for

Regards

Tom

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution, this will help others!

Proud to be a Super User!
I accept Kudos 😉
Hamburg, Germany

Thanks, that's helpful feedback, but not quite what I need.

It's now repeatedly showing it as a subset of all rows.  I need it to show only once.  The same that a subtotal would work.

wrong2.PNG

Hi,

This can be done in Excel by converting the PowerPivot table into cube formulas.

Regards,
Ashish Mathur