Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

paulvans182
Helper III
Helper III

Calculated Columns: Highest Value Flag by Row

Good morning,

I am very new to Power BI and I am building an App to analyze the results of my wife and my Board Game matches as a mean of learning and exposure to the Application.

I have the following game data:

Game DataGame Data

I would like to build calculated columns that identify, in each game, which player won Science, Military, Wonders etc. 

I used VBA in Excel to calculate the Results column (that identifies the higher total in each Game ID).  But, I would much prefer to create these columns in Power BI as I feel it offers a great opportunity for learning.

Also, please be aware that in certain games, there are more than just two players (in case that affects the solution)

Please, could someone offer a suggestion as to the best method to accomplish this?

Kind regards,

Paul

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-joesh-msft
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @paulvans182 ,

You can try to create a calculated column like the one below:

Result =
VAR _max =
    CALCULATE ( MAX ( 'Table'[Total] ), ALLEXCEPT ( 'Table', 'Table'[Gameid] ) )
RETURN
    IF ( 'Table'[Total] = _max, "W", BLANK () )

Results are as follows:

1.PNG

Here is a demo, please try it:

https://qiuyunus-my.sharepoint.com/:u:/g/personal/pbipro_qiuyunus_onmicrosoft_com/EUC6PL4o9ChPkWLRZ-...

Best Regards,

Community Support Team _ Joey
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
v-joesh-msft
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @paulvans182 ,

You can try to create a calculated column like the one below:

Result =
VAR _max =
    CALCULATE ( MAX ( 'Table'[Total] ), ALLEXCEPT ( 'Table', 'Table'[Gameid] ) )
RETURN