Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

CAB80
Frequent Visitor

Calculated Column in Direct Query not working

Hello,

I'm new to this forum and Power BI, so please go easy on me 😁

I've been going nuts all afternoon, because a simple calculated column(as below) works in imported mode but not in direct query?  Can somebody explain why this isn't working and how I may be able to fix it?

CalSeasonStartDate =
CALCULATE(Min('Calendar'[Date]),
filter(all(bi_Grader_BatchV),bi_Grader_BatchV[TotalBinWeight] <> blank() && bi_Grader_BatchV[Season] = 'Calendar'[Season]))

I work in the fruit industry and each season has a start and end date determined by the first day records are entered and likewise for the last.  In my imported model, I used this column for other measures to tell me what the first day of packing was for each season(year).

Also, am I going to have continual issues with DQ vs import for similar dax expressions?  I want this data to be "polling" live so my understanding is that DQ is the way to go, but I need these expressions to work 😟

Thanks in advance
4 REPLIES 4
v-alq-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi, @CAB80 

There are some limitation for calculated columns in DirectQuery mode. Calculated columns are limited to being intra-row, as in, they can only refer to values of other columns of the same table, without the use of any aggregate functions. For further information, please refer the official document .

As a workaround, you may try to create a measure. I created data to reproduce your scenario.

Testalq:

a1.png

Calendar:

Calendar = CALENDARAUTO()

There is a one-to-one relationship between two tables.

You may create a measure as below.

Result = 
var _season = 
IF(
    HASONEVALUE(Testalq[Season]),
    VALUES(Testalq[Season])
)
return
CALCULATE(