cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
richardbadge Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

Calculated Column for New Employee & Left Employee

Hi,

I have a table in Power BI that holds my Payroll information and it has a record per employee per month, as follows.

I would like to have a calculated column that works out the "New Employee" value and returns a 1 if the same employee number does not exist in the prior period, so in the example below, employee 90003 and 90004 return 1 for 01/02/2018 as these employee records did not exist for 01/01/2018.

I am pretty new to DAX so am struggling with how to do this, I have tried to search the web but can't seem to find anything that works for the below.

Payroll.JPG

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Super User
Super User

Re: Calculated Column for New Employee & Left Employee

4 REPLIES 4
Super User
Super User

@richardbadge

You can use this column

New Employee =
VAR temp =
    FILTER (
        Table1,
        Table1[Employee Number] = EARLIER ( Table1[Employee Number] )
            && Table1[Period] < EARLIER ( Table1[Period] )
    )
RETURN
    IF ( COUNTROWS ( temp ) > 0, 0, 1 )
Super User
Super User

Frequent Visitor

Thanks for that, it seems to work, but I do have 1 question. Does the EARLIER < ( Table1[period]) check if the employee existed in any period before? How would I change this to only look at the prior month record?

Also for browney points, what I have not asked for in the original post was the reverse logic to calculate an "Employee Left" flag which will be set to 1 if the employee does not exist in the following period, what DAX would do this?

Thanks again for your assistance

Frequent Visitor

@Zubair_Muhammad

Thanks very much for your help, I have managed to tweak the formula as follows to get it to work to just look at the prior period, and have also created one for "Leavers" as follows