Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Calculated Column IF Amount Exceeds Dynamic Threshold

Hi, 

I am pretty new to Power BI, but I have the formula below to identify records that need Review by checking if the calculated Difference exceeds a Threshold. This formula works if I use it in a measure, but not with a calculated column. It incorrectly identifies rows as needing Review when it does not. The Threshold is a "WhatIf parameter" of whole numbers that users can change through a slicer. I want to use a calculated column because I intend to use Variance_check in a slicer to easily filter rows that require review.

Variance_check =

VAR Difference = CALCULATE(SUM('TB DATA'[Sales]), 'TB DATA'[Period] = "CurrentYear") - CALCULATE(SUM('TB DATA'[Sales]), 'TB DATA'[Period] = "PriorYear")

RETURN

IF(ABS(Difference) > Threshold[Value] , "Review" , "OK")

Any ideas on how to get this to work with a calculated column? Thank you in advance for the help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-chenwuz-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous 

You want to create a column but the column is calculated to change dynamically, right?

This seems to be impossible in Power Bi due to the difference between the measure and the calculated column. Columns are calculated and saved in the capture as soon as you create it, so the result in column won’t change when you do something on slicer.

But you can try to use measure to show the result which defined to display based on the slicer

Variance_check =
VAR Difference =
    CALCULATE( SUM( 'TB DATA'[Sales] ), 'TB DATA'[Period] = "CurrentYear" )
        - CALCULATE( SUM( 'TB DATA'[Sales] ), 'TB DATA'[Period] = "PriorYear" )
RETURN
    IF( ABS( Difference ) > Threshold[Value], "Review", BLANK() )

Then unselect show items no data