Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

ithomas2

Calculate value for a specific month

Hi,

I'm pretty new to power bi and am trying to get a value for the baseline of a kpi. I have a measure for calcualting the average number of issues on a document. There are lots of documents each month. I can use a card and a month filter on the report to show the average number of issues in Jan 2020. I'd like to know how I can "record" or calculate this as a number that can be used in a kpi. For instance, my kpi is likely to be a 20% reduction in issues from Jan to Dec 2020. Thanks for any help you can provide.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-zhenbw-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @ithomas2 ,

We can use the following steps to meet your requirement.

1. We can create a month column.

Month = MONTH(‘Table’[Date])

2. Then we can create a two measures, one is the average of each month based on the month slicer, another is the average of end of year month.

And we can put them to a KPI card, the result like this,

select month AVG = 
CALCULATE(AVERAGE('Table'[value]))

End of year AVG = CALCULATE(AVERAGE('Table'[value]),'Table'[Month] = 12)

C 1.jpg

If it doesn’t meet your requirement, could you please show the exact expected result based on the table that we have shared?

BTW, pbix as attached.

Best regards,

Community Support Team _ zhenbw

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
v-zhenbw-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @ithomas2 ,

We can use the following steps to meet your requirement.

1. We can create a month column.

Month = MONTH(‘Table’[Date])

2. Then we can create a two measures, one is the average of each month based on the month slicer, another is the average of end of year month.