Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

marcgro
Frequent Visitor

Calculate the maximum drop in my sales data

Hello guys, 

I'm new to dax, and while I'm reading my ressource book there is a problem that I would like to solve that would help me immensely.

I have sales data for every one of my customers monthly over 5 years(With a date hierarchy set up). I would like to be able to calculate my maximum drop in sales for every customer. The drop should not be only a year to year drop. i.e. it would be the maximum value of the difference in sales between two of my years, assuming the lower sales year comes after the higher sales year.

i.e:

for customer 1:

YearSales

Return: 250 (is 400 - 150)

In the same way:

for customer 2:

YearSales

Return: 280 (300-20)

I hope you get the point.

One added layer of complexity is that since my sales data is monthly, it has to be aggregated to yearly before looking like the above tables.

Thanks in advance, all!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-juanli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @marcgro 

Create measures

sale_yearly = CALCULATE(SUM('Table'[sales]),FILTER(ALLSELECTED('Table'),'Table'[customer]=MAX('Table'[customer])),VALUES('date'[year]))

Measure = MINX(FILTER(ALLSELECTED('Table'),[year]>=MAX('Table'[year])),[sale_yearly])

Measure 2 = [sale_yearly]-[Measure]

Measure 3 = MAXX(ALLSELECTED('Table'),[Measure 2])

Capture6.JPGCapture7.JPG

Best Regards
Maggie
Community Support Team _ Maggie Li
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
v-juanli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @marcgro 

Create measures