Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

delsnermms
Regular Visitor

Calculate percent difference in values between two different slicer dates

I'm new to Power BI and need help with a specific calculation. I'm building a dashboard that has a number of different slicers. I want to calculate the percent difference between two values selected in a "Start Date" and an "End Date" slicer. All of the data is in a single table, something like this:

Date                        Sales

Jan 31, 2020            10

Feb 28, 2020            20

Mar 31, 2020           30

Apr 30, 2020            40

I have a slicer to select Start Date (i.e. Jan 31, 2020). I also have a slicer for End Date (i.e. Mar 31, 2020). How do I get the values from the selected Start Date and End Date from the table to do the calculation of (30 - 10)/10 and then display the result in a card?

Any help is appreciated!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@delsnermms 

You need to have them as the variables in the formula. If you do not have a timestamp in date, then remove .Date

Percent Change = 					
var _max = maxx(Locations,Locations[Forecast Date].[Date])
var _min = MINX(Locations,Locations[Forecast Date].[Date])
 return
CALCULATE(SUM(Locations[Cost Index]),FILTER(ALL(Locations),Locations[Forecast Date].[Date]=_max))-CALCULATE(SUM(Locations[Cost Index]),FILTER(ALL(Locations),Locations[Forecast Date].[Date]=_min))					

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
amitchandak
Super User
Super User

@delsnermms ,Prefer using a date table

measure =
var _max = maxx('Date','Date'[Date])
var _min = Minx('Date','Date'[Date])

return
CALCULATE(SUM(Table[Sales]), FILTER(all('Date'), 'Date'[Date]=_max)) - CALCULATE(SUM(Table[Sales]), FILTER(all('Date'), 'Date'[Date]=_min))

/////////////  OR 
measure =
var _max = maxx('Table','Date'[Date])