Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

NicoSteininger
Frequent Visitor

Calculate new costs based on BOM and quarter

Hey experts,

I am fairly new to Power BI and have the following question:

I have 3 tables:

- a BOM, which looks similar to the BOM presented in this thread: https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Desktop/caculating-through-the-BOM/m-p/401268#M183367. However my BOM in addition to that has an additional attribute "Material Type" (e.g. type 1000, 1010, 1050, etc.) next to each position.

- The Material Types are splitted into different raw materials (e.g. Aluminium, Copper, etc.). Each raw material represents a certain percentage which the material type consists of, e.g. Type 1010 is 20% Aluminium, 10% Copper and 5% Gold.

- A Forecast Table which show how the Raw Materials will probably change in price in the next quarters.

Example:

My main product is a computer.

--> BOM: It consists of

- graphics card - Material Type 1000

- monitor - Type 1010

- Keyboard - Type 1010

- mainboard - Type 1050 and so on.

--> 2nd table:

Type 1000 consists of 10% Aluminium (the other 90% are not important, or at least not affected from external price changes)

Type 1010 consists of 50% Aluminium, 10% Copper and 5% Gold

Type 1050 consists of 80% Steel

-->3rd table:

- Aluminium will change

Q2: +10%

Q3: +20%

Q4: +40%

- Copper will change

Q2: -5%

Q3: -10%

Q4: -15%

What I need to do now is to go through each material which the main component (the computer) consists of, check which material type that is, check which raw materials it consists of, calculate the static amount of the cost which is unaffected of price changes for the raw materials, apply the forecasted prices to the raw material percentage and add that all up together.