Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Girts
Frequent Visitor

Calculate grouped values based on criteria

I am new in Power BI, read a lot of different solutions in web, but couldn't get a result. 

Source data comes from financial accounts + analytical dimensions. 
For this post created table with dummy values.

YearCostCenterExp-IncMonth01Month02Month03
2017Company ASales100150124
2017Company ASalary505050
2017Company AOther costs202020
2017Company BSales150225186
2017Company BSalary757575
2017Company BOther costs303030
2018Company ASales120180149
2018Company ASalary606060
2018Company AOther costs242424
2018Company BSales188281233
2018Company BSalary949494
2018Company BOther costs383838

The wish is to get calculated values in rows by each year, company(CostCenter) and month. 
It should look like: 

YearCostCenterExp-IncMonth01Month02Month03
2017Company ASales100150124
2017Company ASalary505050
2017Company AProfit before other costs5010074
2017Company A%50%67%60%
2017Company AOther costs202020
2017Company AProfit308054
2017Company A%30%53%44%
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Floriankx
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hello,

you know for starters it is a really hard request.

First Step: You have to Unpivot your FactTable using PowerQuery

let
    Source = Excel.CurrentWorkbook(){[Name="FactTable"]}[Content],
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Year", Int64.Type}, {"CostCenter", type text}, {"Exp-Inc", type text}, {"Month01", Int64.Type}, {"Month02", Int64.Type}, {"Month03", Int64.Type}}),
    Unpivot_Month = Table.UnpivotOtherColumns(#"Changed Type", {"Exp-Inc", "CostCenter", "Year"}, "Attribut", "Wert"),
    Add_MonthNumb = Table.AddColumn(Unpivot_Month, "MonthNumb", each Text.End([Attribut],2)),