Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

zetzler

Calculate distinct cumulative percent based on fixed number and filter

Hello,

I am still very new to Power bi and not sure where to start with my problem.  I am looking to calculate the percent Partipitation over time for a specific team. Our associates submit ideas for improvement and our goal is to have everyone submit an idea by the end of the year.  Our associates are speperated by different production teams and we would like to track by each team which have a fixed value of people in the team.

Example Data:

Date AddedAdded ByTeamComments for this post
1-May-20ABC1First Entry of ABC and should count towards partcipation percent for team 1
2-May-20ABC1ABC should not be counted twice for Team 1
1-May-20ZYX2First Entry of ZYX and should be counted towards partipation percent for team 2

The hope is that using a slicer I can select Team 1 and it will show over time the partipation (Distinct value / Fixed number in team, Each team fixed number is different).

Below is what the chart looked like through Excel Calculations.  You can see the number of Ideas continue to grow through week 3 and 7 but the partcipation percent does not change. this indicates that the same associates were submitting multiple ideas.

Participation Percent.PNG

3 REPLIES 3
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

Right, so seems like there is some missing information, like the size of the teams, you would likely want that in a separate table. Kind of hard to know what you have exactly. Please see this post regarding How to Get Your Question Answered Quickly: https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Community-Blog/How-to-Get-Your-Question-Answered-Quickly/ba-p/38490

But, with some assumptions, you should be able to do something like this:

Measure =

VAR __Count = COUNTROWS(DISTINCT('Table'[Added by]))