Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Calculate daily and monthly active users based on last login date

Hi all!

I am looking to use DAX to calculate daily active users (total number of users that logged in on any given day), and monthly active users (total number of users that logged in during the last 30 days, to be calculated on any given day).  

I have a user table with lots of information, including user id: Users[user id] and last login date: User[Login Date].  This is connected to a calendar dimension table.  

I'm new to Power BI & DAX, and have tried searching for a few days, but can't quite crack this one.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,

Matt

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Icey  - thanks for your response!

It appears the DAU works, but MAU should be the sum of the users active over the past 30 days at any given date.  I filtered the file to November 4th (the last date with data loaded), and the MAU should be 576.  However, it appears to be laying values out on future dates, the sum of which is 576.  The MAU on November 4th should equal 576.

2019-12-09_9-11-14.jpg

Additionally, in the full file, the table containing login date also contains a registration date.  When I implement the formula for DAU, it disrupts formulas already in place to measure new user registrations and total users registrations.  It actually makes DAU = new user registrations.

Thoughts...?

Thanks for your additional help in advance!

2019-12-09_9-26-36.jpg

View solution in original post

Hi @Anonymous ,

you can download my proposed solution from here.

Here is the new formula for the MAU:

MAU = 

var currentDate = SELECTEDVALUE('Date Table'[Date])  
var date30DaysAgo = FIRSTDATE(DATEADD('Date Table'[Date].[Date], -30, DAY))

RETURN 
 CALCULATE(