Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

aekoll
Frequent Visitor

Calculate average for the category of a filtered item

Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to Power BI and am currently haven trouble to get my head around a certain problem with DAX in Power BI and would really appreciate some ideas.

I have two tables that are linked with each other. The first one has all workers of a company and looks like this:

IDUser NameRole
123456   Peter Thompson   HR
123457    Julia Poe   Backend Developer

The second tabe lists all time entries that each person has booked on any project over all time. This is simplyfied but should be enough for my problem

user id   project   time entry lenght in min   date
123456   XYZ   60   12.12.2021

On my report page I have a line chart that shows how much time was booked in % on a specific project over time. Additionally I have a filter for the user, which allows me to show these values for each user. To be able to make a comparision, I calculated the average over all user with a Caluclate ("", ALL()) function so that it's not affected by the filter itself. The chart filtered for "Julia" looks like this:

aekoll_0-1657273703260.png

So far so good. What I want to add to this chart is another measure that calculates the average value of the Role of the selected user. So if I filter the report for "Julia Poe", I want this bar chart to also show the average of all users that do have the same role "Backend Developer" as she does.

I do not really have a good idea on how to solve this issue and was so far not able to find a similar request. If so, I am truly sorry!

Let me know if anything is unclear. Thank you so much for your help!

Best,
Andreas

Edit: to give some further expanation: I want a measure that looks more or less like this: