Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MagubaneSSP
Frequent Visitor

Calculate and visualize student progression (throughput) rate by year.

Hi Power Bi Experts,

I am a newbie to power bi and need help with the following analysis on student data:

1. Throughput or progression rate by year, i.e. students moving from 1 'programme level' to the next (level 1 - level 2 - level 3, and D1 - D2 - D3)?

My source data has the following columns:

• Year (2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020)
  • Student ID (unique IDs)
  • Gender (Female, Male)
  • Region (DC, OH)
  • Qualification (Marketing, Finance)
  • Programme (Entry, Advanced)
  • Programme level (level 1, level 2, level 3, D1, D2, D3)
  • Completion Status (Complete and Incomplete)

I have been able to calculate % completed by year, programme level, and qualification using this measure: % Completed = [Total Completed] / [Total Students], but struggling to show progression %, i.e. calculating the number and percentage of students who complete their first qualification and register for the next higher level of the qualification.

Hope my questions are clear.

Thanking you all in advance. 

4 REPLIES 4
v-xiaotang
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @MagubaneSSP 

so you want to calculate the number and percentage of students who complete their first qualification and register for the next higher level of the qualification?

could you show us the result you want (You can give examples in Excel/PBI file after removing sensitive information, or you can give us hand drawn data)?

FYI: https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Desktop/How-to-Get-Your-Question-Answered-Quickly/m-p/1579748#M6420...

Best Regards,

Community Support Team _ Tang

If this post helps, please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Hi,