Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Jolyon
Helper III
Helper III

Calculate actual vs Forecast?

Hi dear community,

I am rather new in BI-Field,but have already the first task and questions.

I have two table - with forecast revenue and actual data.

The values are given per Item and Month, and there can be several records per Month.

Original tables.png

As a first sub-task I grouped the forecast revenues by Item and Month (thanks to community=) from the first table

and got such a table.

BI-table1.png

1. And here is my first question: when I make a "GROUP BY" step from the original Forecast table, can I save it as a separate table? If i do it in the original table, I lose other important data like Prod-ID and Department.
  2. Is it then possible to produce a relationship between these two tables - original and new?

As a second sub-task I need to compare Actual vs. Forecast values per Month and Item and visualize the differences.

For this purpose I wanted to connect two tables(Forecast and Actual) per Prod-ID as a primary key, but faced the problem: i cannot make a relation between them and get an alert "Relation between the tables is not possible, at least one column in the table should contain unique data".

I suppose the cause of the problem is, that I have several records per Item in my table(for exaple Item 1-ProdID1-Month1,Item1-ProdID1-Month2,Month3 etc.)

What can I do in that case and how can I calculate the difference? Should I make a new measure or column?

Thank you all!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Jolyon

In my opinion, you can union those two tables.

unionTable =
UNION (
    SELECTCOLUMNS (
        actual,
        "prodcut", actual[Product],
        "month", actual[Month],
        "value", actual[actual Revenue],
        "product id", actual[Product ID],