Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

drinko
Helper I
Helper I

Calculate a PayPeriod from a table with one Pay Date field

PBI beginner here, trying to learn DAX.  I have ADP_Labor[Timecard Pay Date] and I am trying to calculate a PayPeriod.  The logic is that the [Timecard Pay Date] is between two dates that define the period.  I created a dimension table that had Pay_Period[Period start date],Pay_Period[Period end date],Pay_Period[Pay Period].  I didn't know how to join that table to ADP_Labor.  I tried two joins, but only one could be active (needed some kind of implicit conditional join and I have no idea what I'm talking about).  The other option was to create a New Column in ADP_Labor called PayPeriod, but I have no idea how to write the DAX for that (tried many things).  The ADP_Labor table would have data for 2019-2021 and there are 26 pay periods per year (14 days per period).  Period 1 for each year states at a weird date for each year, but the math and logic would work out if I hard coded the start date.  2019 period 1 start date is 12/21/2018 and 2020 period 1 start date is 12/20/2019 and 2021 period 1 start date is 12/18/2020.  Grateful for any help.  
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Need a little more help.  I made some progress creating a calculated column in the ADP_Labor table.  I am using datediff to put each ADP_Labor[Timecard Pay Date] row into a Pay Period.  There are 26 pay periods per year.   I just need help figuring out how to put period 27 as period 1 (first one in a new year).  Any ideas?

pay period = FLOOR(DATEDIFF(DATE(2018,12,21),ADP_Labor[Timecard Pay Date],DAY)/14,1)+1

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
v-eqin-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @drinko ,