Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

srivally
Helper I
Helper I

Calculate YTD for duplicate dates

Hello Experts,

I am very new to PowerBI. I searched a lot to calculate YTD and came to know that we can calculate YTD only when we have distinct continous dates. But in my case I have multiple values for single date and I wanted to calculate YTD. I tried the following calculation
YTD = TOTALYTD(SUM('Sales'[Net Sales]),'Date'[Date]), but I'm getting same values as NetSales. It is not calculating YTD as we are having multiple values for single date. Here Sales is the main table and Date is Calendar table, I have created 1:1 relationship among Sales and Date table by  creating unique column and tried. But no luck as we are having multiple dates in Date table as well. Can anyone help me on this?

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

@srivally,

You date table doesn't contain all the possible date values of your sales table, and you don't create relationship between the two tables, thus you don't get expected YTD value.

Please check the attached PBIX file.

Regards,
Lydia

Community Support Team _ Lydia Zhang
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

@srivally,

You date table doesn't contain all the possible date values of your sales table, and you don't create relationship between the two tables, thus you don't get expected YTD value.

Please check the attached PBIX file.

Regards,
Lydia

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

@v-yuezhe-msft
I have created the relationship, but I'm getting YTD as blank values. I have attached the same here
https://www.dropbox.com/h