Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Calculate STDEV include 0 values - PROBLEM IS WITH MY DATA LINEAGE

Hi,

I'm pretty new to Power BI. I have learned a TON from this forum so thank you to the many contributors.

I have seen a post about this problem before and understand the theory of joining with another table to ensure 0 values get included. https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Desktop/Including-0-values-when-calculating-STDEV/m-p/195269 . However, I am struggling mightily implementing it due to my data structure (and lack of DAX experience beyond basic measures).

My source data is from .txt files where each line corresponds to a worked shift by an employee. A slightly simplified table structure is:

[Date][EmployeeID][WorkerType][Location][ShiftCode][ShiftLength][ShiftTOD][DayOfSched]

Descriptions:

[Location] = A unit of the hospital

[WorkerType] = RN, RPN, PSW 

[ShiftCode] = Characters that correspond to types of shift, such as "straight time" or "overtime"

[ShiftLength] = total minutes worked (typical 450 = 1 shift)

[ShiftTOD] = 1, 2, or 3 (corresponding to Day, Evening, Night shift)

[DayOfSched] = a number from 1 to 28 (4 week schedule = 28 days) - essentially a repeating index

In Power Query I have brought the data in and created additional columns that break out the ShiftLength for TOD1, TOD2, TOD3 using an IF statement. I did this in PQ because I thought it would be better to calculate once than do in memory for hundreds of thousands or millions of rows of data.

I have a Date Dimension table, and Dimensions for Worker Type, Location, and Shift Codes.