Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

afaherty
Helper IV
Helper IV

Calculate Percent of Survey Respondents By Group

Greetings All,

I am extremely new to Power BI - so new that my employer just gave me access to it yesterday.  I need to take Likert scale type survey data and graph the responses.  Some of the survey takers are 1st year teachers, some are 3rd year teachers, and some are the employers.  The teachers rated themselves on various measures, and the employers rated them on the same measures.  They were given answer choices of consistently, inconsistently, minimally, and not at all.  I was thinking of creating stacked bar charts for each question.  Can someone assist me with how to have PowerBI calculate for me the percent of each answer by respondent type?  This is fake data below, but as you can see, some of the respondents didn't answer each question.

Fake Survey Data.JPG

Thanks!

8 REPLIES 8
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

Text data or sample PBIX is always appreciated. Please see this post regarding How to Get Your Question Answered Quickly: https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Community-Blog/How-to-Get-Your-Question-Answered-Quickly/ba-p/38490

That being said, I would unpivot your Question columns in Power Query and then the problem should be trivial. 

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
The Definitive Guide to Power Query (M)

DAX is easy, CALCULATE makes DAX hard...

@Greg_Deckler  Thanks!  Forgive me, I'm a newbie - can you give some step-by-step instructions for both the unpivot suggestion and the EARLIER DAX suggestion?

GroupQuestion1Question2Question3
1st Yr TeacherConsistentlyInconsistentlyNot at all