cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Regular Visitor

CSV values

Hi,

First of all thanks for reading this. I am new to PowerBI so I am hoping you could help me out.  I have the following data

#Column Values
Request #1A,B,C
Request #2C,A

As you can see in the table above my column values is seperated  by a comma. What I wanted to achieve in my report is this.

PowerBICount
Selection A2
Selection B1
Selection C2

I already tried the "Split column" features usinga delimiter, but when I use split into columns and use it in my report it did look great because somehow it looks like that data is not merging. When I tried to split into rows, it also affect my other column and duplicates it.

Thanks

21 REPLIES 21
Highlighted
Super User IV
Super User IV

Re: CSV values

Make sure to split it in rows and then you can get what you are looking for:

split.PNG

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution.

Proud to be a Super User! Appreciate your Kudos 🙂
Feel free to email me with any of your BI needs.

Highlighted
Regular Visitor

Hi,

Thanks for the reply. I tried it out but somehow other data was also duplicated

#ColumnOther Columns
Request #1A,B,CValue 1
Request #2C,AValues 2

After splitting it my table turns into this which affects my other report:

#ColumnOther Columns
Request #1AValue 1
Request #1BValue 1
Request #1CValue 1
Request #2CValues 2
Request #2AValues 2
Highlighted
Responsive Resident
Responsive Resident

Split and Unpivot is your friend.

First split your "Column values" using a comma as the delimiter.

Then select the columns you just created and select unpivot.

Finally delete the "Attribute" column that was created.

You will end up with something that looks like this:

Capture.PNG

Here's the Power Query

let