Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

TootsiePatootsi
Regular Visitor

CSV values

Hi,

First of all thanks for reading this. I am new to PowerBI so I am hoping you could help me out.  I have the following data

#Column Values
Request #1A,B,C
Request #2C,A

As you can see in the table above my column values is seperated  by a comma. What I wanted to achieve in my report is this.

PowerBICount
Selection A2
Selection B1
Selection C2

I already tried the "Split column" features usinga delimiter, but when I use split into columns and use it in my report it did look great because somehow it looks like that data is not merging. When I tried to split into rows, it also affect my other column and duplicates it.

Thanks

21 REPLIES 21
dramus
Continued Contributor
Continued Contributor

Split and Unpivot is your friend.

First split your "Column values" using a comma as the delimiter.

Then select the columns you just created and select unpivot.

Finally delete the "Attribute" column that was created.

You will end up with something that looks like this:

Capture.PNG

Here's the Power Query

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WCkotLE0tLlFQNlTSUXLUcdJxVorVQRI2Ago76zgqxcYCAA==", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Requests = _t, #"Column Values" = _t]),
    #"Split Column by Delimiter" = Table.SplitColumn(Source, "Column Values", Splitter.SplitTextByDelimiter(",", QuoteStyle.Csv), {"Column Values.1", "Column Values.2", "Column Values.3"}),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(#"Split Column by Delimiter",{{"Requests", type text}, {"Column Values.1", type text}, {"Column Values.2", type text}, {"Column Values.3", type text}}),