cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
gp93
Frequent Visitor

CALCULATE and FILTER With Text column

Hi all,

I am quite new to DAX after mainly working with excel and I am struggling to get my head around something where the logic to me is sound.

minutesPercent = DIVIDE(
                    'bio agentStatus'[durationTotal],
                    CALCULATE(SUM('bio agentStatus'[statusDuration]),'bio agentStatus'[statusID])
                    ,0)

The above code works completely fine - however I have another column in the table that i have got from merging queries with another table - a text field called description which directly relates to statusID. Why is that this works but if i swap out statusID with description (so that i can display the descriptions on the visual) it doesn't?

Apologies if this has been posted before - I have looked around but couldn't find a solution that worked when i implemented it.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
gp93
Frequent Visitor

Re: CALCULATE and FILTER With Text column

Hi,

Thanks for coming back to me - I think I must have not explained this very well as I managed to solve it with this:

minutesPercent = DIVIDE(
                    CALCULATE(SUM('bio agentStatus'[statusDuration]),ALL('bio agentStatus'[bio status.description (groups)]))
                    ,0)

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @gp93,

Nope, you can't use math function to calculate with text value except count.

In my opinion, I'd like to suggest you create measure with calculate and text function to get current desktop, then drag it to tooltip field to display description.

Sample:

Measure =
CALCULATE (
    CONCATENATEX (
        VALUES ( 'bio agentStatus'[statusDuration] ),
        [statusDuration],
        ","
    ),
    VALUES ( 'bio agentStatus'[statusID] )
)

Reference link: