Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Bundling overlapping categories for filtering

Hi,

I'm new with DAX, so any help is highly appreciated. 

I'm trying to bundle various transaction categories, which I can then use for filtering in my reports. The problem is, that these bundles are overlapping each other with no underlying logic to exploit. In the sample table below, I want to be able to filter on the bundles x, y and z, where for instance the x bundle includes categories a, b, and c. The problem seems to ressemble a dynamic segmentation pattern, but instead of filtering on values, I need to filter on categories.

Any pointers as to how to go about this?

Categoryxyz
aTRUETRUEFALSE
bTRUEFALSEFALSE
cTRUETRUETRUE
dFALSEFALSETRUE

Cheers,

Niels

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous

I managed to solve the problem - thank you for providing the missing link 🙂

I used your suggested table (execpt I filtered out all rows with IsTrue=0), as well as a new table with the unique categories organized in the below schema - note the bidirectional relationship between Categories and Bundles. Then I used the following measure in my visuals and sliced it with BundleID:

M2M =
CALCULATE(
    SUM(Facts[Amount]),
    CROSSFILTER(Categories[Category],Bundles[Category],Both)
)

schema.PNG

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable