Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Ray_Brosius
Helper III
Helper III

Building a Table Visual - error "Can't determine relationships between the fields"

I have what I feel like is a stupid question.  I've been using Power BI for several years and it seems like I run into this problem and can't figure it out.. or at least remember.

I have these three simple tables shown below.  The main table is Deals and the dealid is key that relates this one table to the two tables shown below.. 

When I try to create a table visual with a column from all three of these tables I get the error " can't determine relationship between the fields"  If I pull a column from Deals and Key Deal Status.. no problems.. as soon as I add a column from the COmpanies to Deals.. I get the error.. 

Ray_Brosius_0-1624047647357.png

Ray_Brosius_1-1624047787691.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Ray_Brosius
Helper III
Helper III

I think I understand the nature of the problem....

The Deals can have more than one Company.. and the Deals can have more than one Status.

When trying to put these together  liek below

Deal, Company(s), Status(es)

Power BI does not know how to list these in one Table.. in that for every Deal -> company relationship does it go and get every Deal-Status combination.. the Status and Company while related to a single Deal ... there is no relationship between the Company and Status...  showing that in a single table does not make logical sense...

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Ray_Brosius
Helper III
Helper III

I think I understand the nature of the problem....

The Deals can have more than one Company.. and the Deals can have more than one Status.

When trying to put these together  liek below

Deal, Company(s), Status(es)