Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Budget vs Commitment vs Actual

Hello dears. 

I'm a newbie in Power BI, so I could use a little help here.  

I have 3 tables:  

1) Budget (with department, value and purchase order columns)

2) Commitment (with value and purchase order columns)

3) Actual (with value and purchase orders columns)

How I should relate those so I can make a "Line and Stacked column" visual like below.

'
Shared Axis: Department
Column series: empty 

Column values: Commitment and Actual

Line values: Budget

'

I think I will need to add some dimensions tables, but I'm struggling on it. Would appreciate some help here.

Feel free to suggest anything, even DAX formulas, although I think it will be not necessary.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
kentyler
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

So each Department has a Budget that includes multiple Purchase Orders, each of different value

A Commitment is a promise of a value for a given Purchase Order

An Actual is an actual value for a given Purchase Order

It looks like the relationships are between the Purchase Order columns... which implies a table of Purchase Orders with a unique entry for each purchase order. 

That gives you 3 fact tables: Budget, Commitments, Actuals 

with a Purchase Order dimension table that links to all of them with a 1 to many relationship

I'm a personal Power Bi Trainer I learn something every time I answer a question

The Golden Rules for Power BI

1. Use a Calendar table. A custom Date tables is preferable to using the automatic date/time handling capabilities of Power BI. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FxiAYGbCfAQ