Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

gbogue
Frequent Visitor

Budget vs. Actuals

Hi PowerBI beginner here

I have actual, budget and forcast data for revenue, volume and gross profit in the format.

Act V Bud.png

I want to show the Actual versus Budget with a variance column in a matrix and a chart. 

I have saved a sample of the data below

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1k68rHWQ3NAzbktIqEO-Rp3KZDFYtmivv/view?usp=sharing

Thanks in advance

Garry

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

@gbogue  - You can specify Measures for the various combinations of attributes. For example:

Actual Revenue = 
CALCULATE( 
    SUM(Data[Revenue]),
    Data[FinanceActivity] = "Actual"
)

Then create other measures for the variance information.

Cheers!

Nathan

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

@gbogue  - You can specify Measures for the various combinations of attributes. For example:

Actual Revenue = 
CALCULATE( 
    SUM(Data[Revenue]),
    Data[FinanceActivity] = "Actual"
)

Then create other measures for the variance information.

Cheers!

Nathan

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @Anonymous 

I tried doing this however when i created actual it was fine however when i went to create one for planned it was saying that there was a circular dependency detected

Would you know how to solve this?

Thank!

Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous Were you able to resolve this problem. I am working on a similar problem and not sure how to align the data source and create a matrix of Actuals, Budgets and %Change. It would be really nice if you could share a sample file where you got it worked out.

Thanks in advance.

Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous - Could you share your pbix?