Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ZaraSeif123
Frequent Visitor

Bridge table

Hi All

I'm new to Power BI and have imported these two tables from salesforce in to my model.

Capture.PNG

'Created by' and 'Sold by' columns contain people names.  I need to make a bridge table here, because the relationship between these tables is many to many.

Couldn't find a way to create the bridge table.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Zara

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
cjemmott
Advocate I
Advocate I

There may be a better way to do this, but here is what I did:

- Duplicate one of your queries (Edit Query -> right click the query from the list on the left and click "duplicate")

- Right click on the column header and select "Remove Other Columns"

- If there are null / missing values, click the small arrow on the right side of the column header and click "Remove Empty"

- Right click on the column header and select "Remove Duplicates"

That gives you a unique list to use as the bridge.

Then define two relationships, a many to one from 'Created by' to the bridge, and a one to many from the bridge to 'Sold by'.  Make sure both relationships are set to filter in both directions, and you should be good to go!

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
cjemmott
Advocate I
Advocate I

There may be a better way to do this, but here is what I did:

- Duplicate one of your queries (Edit Query -> right click the query from the list on the left and click "duplicate")

- Right click on the column header and select "Remove Other Columns"

- If there are null / missing values, click the small arrow on the right side of the column header and click "Remove Empty"

- Right click on the column header and select "Remove Duplicates"

That gives you a unique list to use as the bridge.