Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

CB13
Frequent Visitor

[Beginner Question] Data structuring tall to wide for table visual

Hello,

Beginner here so apologies if this is simple, but after quite a few failed attempts, I could use help figuring out how to shape my data / build my visual.

The report needs to be a grid with metrics across the top, and people as rows:

Metric AMetric BMetric C
Person 198%1.575%
Person 297%1.144%
Person 3100%2.450%

My data is stacked, and I currently use a matrix visual to flatten it, as well as use the Indicator field to apply conditional formatting (the rules for the conditional formatting vary widely by metric):

PersonMetricResultIndicator
Person 1Metric A98%1
Person 1Metric B1.50
Person 1Metric C75%1
Person 2Metric A97%1
Person 2Metric B1.10
Person 2Metric C44%0
Person 3Metric A100%1
Person 3Metric B2.41
Person 3Metric C50%

All results are pre-calculated prior to load, so I do not need to perform any aggregations. The matrix solution achieves the look I need, and from what I have read should be more performant than a flat table, but has 2 issues the user has said are now must-haves:

1. When they export the data it must export in the same structure/format as the displayed grid (not stacked like the source data). 

2. They need to be able to sort by the metric results, for example, sort by Metric C to see all the top/bottom results on that metric.

The user still wants to be able to select / de-select metrics to have them show / not show in the grid (easily achieved using the stacked data in a matrix, not so much using a table).

This is leading me towards flattening my data and using a table visual instead of a matrix visual. I have tried: