Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

BTA999
Frequent Visitor

Bars disappear in my visual (Chart data contains not a number values)

Hi,

I am running into this situation and whatever I have tried, can't solve it - but I am quite new to PBI so it might just be something simple. At least I hope it is.

I have a databse of sales figures of some of our sister companies from the whole country for the years of 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021.

I am trying to build a visual that shows the market share (MS) change of these companies between 2020 and 2018. I need to put this on a clustered bar chart to see the negative and positive bars as well.

The query ('Total sales 2018-21') has these columns: City/Province/Partner/Sales 2018/Sales 2019/Sales 2020/Sales 2021 - all appropriately formatted.

So, first I created measures to calculate the MS change for all the partners individually.

This is the formula for each:

MS LC 2020-18 = 
(CALCULATE(
    SUM('Total Sales 2018-21'[Sales 2020]),'Total Sales 2018-21'[Partner]="LC") / 
SUM('Total Sales 2018-21'[Sales 2020])) - 
(CALCULATE(
    SUM('Total Sales 2018-21'[Sales 2018]),'Total Sales 2018-21'[Partner]="LC") / 
SUM('Total Sales 2018-21'[Sales 2018]))

"LC" here is the code for one of the companies, that changes in the measures for every company.

Next, I start to put these into the X axis of the visual and they appear nicely as you can see below in IMG 001.

Then, the problem comes when I put the Partners field (from the same query) into the Y axis, as I want to see the names of the companies rather than the legend.

Then the names of the companies appear but the bars disappear, I get some numbers (I can't see where they are coming from) and on the top, there is the big I button that shows me the NaN error. Pls see IMG002 below.