Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

forti4040
Helper III
Helper III

Average of delta between two distinct counts

Hello All,

I'm relatively new to Power BI and have a question about the correct approach to getting a desired value. 

Below is a screenshot of some data I loaded to a stacked bar chart. I'd like to create a card that reflects the average monthly delta between the two separate groups in the chart. I can't figure out how to do this with calculated columns and/or measures. 

Sample

The basic math is shown below, I just don't know how to do it in DAX / Power BI. 

Math

Any help would be appreciated!

9 REPLIES 9
v-chuncz-msft
Community Support
Community Support

@forti4040,

You may refer to measure below.

Measure =
AVERAGEX ( Table1, Table1[Group 1] - Table1[Group 2] )
Community Support Team _ Sam Zha
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

@v-chuncz-msft Thank you for the quick response.

I followed your instructions, and added count( in front of each group as these are columns with date values and just looking for count. Unfortunately I'm not getting the correct values in the math and am not clear as to why. 

The below formula should return 2 since 6-1 = 5, 2-3 = -1 and the average of 5 & -1 = 2. 

LoadingBalance = AVERAGEX( Projects, COUNT(Projects[Group1]) - COUNT(Projects[Group2]) )

But as you can see from the card that I overlayed on the graph it is returning 0. Not clear as to why. Any help would be appreciated. 

Untitled4.jpg

@forti4040,

You may check link below.

http://community.powerbi.com/t5/Desktop/Change-table-visualization-total/m-p/323290#M144103

Community Support Team _ Sam Zha