Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Average filtered by column from different table

I am very new to Power BI, so this may have a very easy solution, but I haven't been able to find it.

I have 2 tables, one with transactions data and another with yields (quarterly). They both have Column Y (Year) , that I would like to have as a filter / axis for graphs.

However, when trying to connect the two data sets on one chart (pic 1), the year average for yields is calculated incorrectly when filtering it with Y from transaction table. I believe that it happens because Power BI doesn't percieve the Year column from two tables as the same column (Pic 2), though when trying to merge queries in Query Editor it will match the year values correctly. How can I correct this?

Pic 1Pic 1Pic 2Pic 2

English is not my first language, so in case wording isn't clear I will be glad to clarify further .

Thanks in advance, any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yuta-msft
Community Support
Community Support

@Anonymous ,

Based on your description, I guess " the year average for yields" you meantioned is a measure to calculate average percentage each year, right? The issue should be caused that you use a column in another table as a X-axis and the measure you created as Y-axis. Please try calculate column instead of measure and check again.

However, if this issue still persists, please share the sample data(e.g.: dummy data of the two tables) and the dax code of the measure.

Community Support Team _ Jimmy Tao

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
v-yuta-msft
Community Support
Community Support

@Anonymous ,