Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Automated Generation of PowerBI Reports

Hi, I'm fairly new to PowerBI and its various features. and I'm looking for help in automating the generation of reports and would appreciate any suggestions or resources.

What I'm trying to achieve is a little complicated and I'm not even sure supported.

I would like to use a list (retrieved from a DB) to automatically generate seperate reports for each of the entries in that list. To use an example, the list could be Employees and an identical report would be generated and catered to each Employee. Each of the reports will have same format, and the Employees' name/id will be used as a parameter when quering the data source (probably a DB).

To really dumb down the example:

1. Run query to get list of Employees

2. Use each Employees' name/id as a parameter to generate identical reports for all Employees

These identical reports could be seperate PowerBI Reports or individual pages on one report.

I've seen mentions of automating data refreshes but nothing about the generation of PowerBI Reports. Any direction would be greatly appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
MFelix
Super User
Super User

Hi @Anonymous,

Assuming that you want this so that each employee have access to his own report, or a user can check specific persons.

First of all Power BI doesn't automate the creation of reportings, be aware that this is a Bussiness inteligence tool and not a reporting tool, so the concept is different.